PRESS STATEMENT

ELECTION OF NON-CONSTITUENCY MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT IN GENERAL ELECTION 2011

The Parliamentary Elections Act ("Act") states that, at any general election, the number of non-constituency Members of Parliament (MPs) to be declared elected shall be 9 less the number of Opposition MPs elected. The non-constituency MPs to be declared elected shall be determined from amongst the candidates of the Opposition parties contesting the General Election on the basis of the percentage of votes polled by such candidates. (Details are spelt out in Section 52 of the Act.)

As six Opposition MPs were elected to Parliament in the General Election 2011, three candidates who received the highest votes amongst the unelected candidates from the Opposition parties shall be declared elected as non-constituency MPs under section 52 of the Act.

Ms Loh Woon Lee Lina (Singapore People's Party) who contested in Potong Pasir Single-Member Constituency and Mr Yee Jenn Jong (Workers' Party) who contested in Joo Chiat Single-Member Constituency received the top two highest percentages of votes amongst the unelected Opposition candidates.

The Workers' Party group of candidates who contested in the East Coast Group Representation Constituency received the third highest percentage of votes amongst the unelected Opposition candidates. They are Mr Gerald Giam Yean Song, Ms Glenda Han Su May, Mr Mohamed Fazli Bin Talip, Mr Eng Png Huat and Mr Eric Tan Heng Chong. The Returning Officer has informed the group on 10 May 2011 that one member of the group shall be declared elected as a non-constituency MP and that the group has until 17 May 2011 to select one candidate from their group to be declared elected as a non-constituency MP.

ISSUED BY: ELECTIONS DEPARTMENT

DATE : 10 MAY 2011